top of page


SWOADA Meritorious Service Award:

Presented in recognition of special contributions, leadership and service to interscholastic athletics in the Southwest District and the recipients league and their community.

Doug Foote, New Richmond

Larry Herges, Taylor



SWOADA/NFHS Citation Award:

 Presented to an individual associated with categories of professionals who have made significant contributions to the NFHS and/or other organizations that have impacted high school activities, also in recognition of exceptional time, effort and energy devoted to athletics in the Southwest District.

Dr. David Kelley, University of Cincinnati



SWOADA/OIAAA Award of Merit:

Presented to a NIAAA member in each state in recognition of meritorious service, leadership, and special contributions to interscholastic athletics at the state and local level. The Executive Board can either nominate or place names on the ballot. 

Joe Roberts, Princeton



SWOADA/OIAAA Hall of Fame Inductee(s):

Induction into the Hall of Fame for exceptional service in Athletic Administration, this honor is bestowed upon a retired athletic administrator in recognition of their special accomplishments and contributions.

Claude Chaney

Tom Donnelly

IMG-0906 (1).jpg


SWOADA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award (SEI):

Presented to an individual who is a role model for others, exemplifies an unwavering commitment to good sportsmanship, reflects a high level of ethics and integrity and teaches positive values by words and deed.

Chuck Richardson, Norwood



SWOADA/OIAAA Athletic Director(s) of the Year:

Presented to individuals who exemplify the highest standards of their profession and who, through their influence on the lives of young people under their direction, has made significant contributions to their school and community.

Larry Herges, Taylor

Chris Weaver, Fairmont

Jabreel Moton, Woodward

Chuck Richardson, Norwood



SWOADA Middle School Athletic Director of the Year:

Presented to a Middle School (7-8) Athletic Director in recognition of service, leadership and involvement with interscholastic athletics at the local and district levels. The recipient of this award must be assigned the leadership of a 7-8 athletic program as their primary responsibility. ADs who serve as high school AD and 7-8 are not eligible for this award.

Jordan Lanham, Little Miami



SWOADA Horizon Award:

Presented to an active athletic administrator who has demonstrated within their first five years, signs of professionalism and involvement, which has made a difference in their school or conference.

Zach Stakely, St. Bernard-Elmwood Place



SWOADA Jim Rolfes Professional Development Award:

Presented to a recipient who most possesses and had contributed to the vision of Professional Development- the legacy of Jim Rolfes who led the professional development of SWOADA for many years. This nomination is forwarded to the OIAAA and then to the NIAAA for consideration. The Executive Board will place names on the ballots from those that were nominated that fit these criteria.


Josh Hardin, Cincinnati Public Schools


SWOADA/OIAAA Distinguished Service Award:

This award is presented to an association member each year in recognition of their length of service, special accomplishments and contributions to athletic administration at the local, state and national levels. Each District is permitted, but not required to nominate one worthy individual from their organization, and the Executive Committee will choose one nominee to be honored. This nomination is forwarded to OIAAA and ultimately to NIAAA for consideration. The Executive Board will place names on the ballots from those that were nominated that fit the criteria.


Tim Cook, Western Brown


bottom of page